Matt Hurray


by Matt Hurray

Released 2019
Boardwalk Beauties
Released 2019
Boardwalk Beauties
Surf Rock at its best! Great tunes and even greater execution. Hurray!!!
Matt Hurray has not only amazed critics and fans with brilliant surf masterpieces on releases such as ‘Cool, Cajjj, Rippin’, Rad!’, ‘Diamond Head Dumb Head’, ‘Egyptian Surfer’ and ‘Unnecessary Commentary’ but now it really seems he is determined to single-handedly revive this almost forgotten genre, while leading from the front line. Influenced by the long admired and never forgotten sounds of surf rock legends (The Ventures, The Challengers, The Surfaris…) Matt Hurray’s frenetic, frenzied and feverish original songs are exciting, entertaining and impressively sharp.

Hurray has been writing and performing original music for over 30 years. A founding member of the ever rocking, underrated, self-destructive, extremely popular Orange County California super group Just Plain Big, he started his solo career in 2012 with the full length surf instrumental CD release entitled ‘Egyptian Surfer’ to exceptional reviews across the country. In 2016 Hurray released the eighteen song surf epic CD ‘Unnecessary Commentary’ which received extraordinary reviews, radio airplay throughout the world, and soundtrack credits for both radio and television advertisements. Hurray has performed with The Hoodoo Gurus, The English Beat, The Blaster’s, They Might Be Giants, Sublime, and Dick Dale to name just a few.

"Bitchin" is a strong release that includes nine surf covers (some standards and some obscure gems) and a re-recorded / remix of Hurray's own song 'El Rollo'. "Bitchin" will be followed up by another collection of ten songs at the end of July or early August.

The Players:

Matt Hurray: Guitar and Vocal
Jim Rice: Guitar and Vocal
Peter Freiberger: Bass Guitar
Gary Brandin: Lap Steel Guitar
Gary Ferguson: Drums

Hope you dig it...